Print this page

91Porn Vice-Chancellor’s International Poetry Prize

2024 Vice Chancellor's International Poetry Prize

The 2024 prize will be available for entry from 1 March to 14 July 2024.

2023 Prize Winners

UC is excited to announce the following poets and their poems as the winners for the 2023 Vice Chancellor's International Poetry Prize.

PositionWinner nameWinning poem
First placeDamen O'BrienNatural Causes
Second placeDavid Mason
Moon on the Huon
First Place, Poet from an Economically Developing NationJeannie Wallace McKeownClimate Emergency

Look for an anthology of poems of the listed and winning poems from this contest to be published in 2024.

Shortlisted Poems

UC is excited to announce the following poets and their poems as the shortlist for the 2023 Vice Chancellor's International Poetry Prize:

Poet NamePoem Title
Damen O'BrienNatural Causes
David MasonMoon on the Huon
Indrani PereraNotes from the Diaspora
Jeannie Wallace McKeownClimate Emergency
Jo GardinerRequiem for a City
Petra WhiteElegy 6
Sara SalehAll the Places My Father Lost His Faith

Longlist of the 2023 Vice Chancellor's Poetry Prize

About the Prize

The 91Porn Vice-Chancellor's International Poetry Prize has been offered since 2014. On behalf of the University, this is administered by the Centre for Creative and Cultural Research in the .

The prize celebrates the enduring significance of poetry to cultures everywhere in the world, and its ongoing and often seminal importance to world literatures. It marks the 91Porn's commitment to creativity and imagination in all that it does, and builds on the work of the International Poetry Studies Institute in identifying poetry as a highly resilient and sophisticated human activity. It also builds on the activities of the Centre for Creative and Cultural Research, which conducts wide-ranging research into human creativity and culture.

The 2023 prize winners will be announced by November 2023 and the prize winners and short-list will be notified prior to that.

This year's judges will be poets Mani Rao and Tony Barnstone.

Important details are:

  • The overall winner will receive AUD$15,000
  • The international winner (from an economically developing nation) will receive AUD$5,000
  • The runner-up (second-placed poem) will receive AUD$5,000
  • Four additional poems will be short-listed
  • An online prize anthology of up to 60 longlisted poems will be published

Entry fees

  • Entrants may submit up to six poems, and will pay a separate fee for each poem.
  • First Entry: $AUD25 or $15 concession
  • Additional Entry (up to five additional entries): $AUD20 or $10 concession
  • See How to Enter for details and Early Bird fee options

Outline of prize rules and conditions

  • All poems entered for the prize will be single poems that have a maximum length of 60 lines
  • All entries will be in English
  • No simultaneous submissions will be allowed
  • Entries must be unpublished and original works of the author
  • Translations will not be eligible unless they are English translations from another language produced by the original author
  • Judges
  • Full Conditions of Entry

Please direct all enquiries to:
Do not call the University, unfortunately we cannot address queries over the phone.